Marshall D. Shulman Book Prize

The Marshall D. Shulman Book Prize, established in 1987 and sponsored by the Harriman Institute of Columbia University, is awarded annually for an outstanding monograph dealing with the international relations, foreign policy, or foreign-policy decision-making of any of the states of the former Soviet Union or Eastern Europe published the previous year. The prize is dedicated to the encouragement of high quality studies of the international behavior of the countries of the former Communist Bloc. The Shulman Book Prize carries a cash award. The award is presented at the ASEEES Annual Convention.


Margarita M. BalmacedaRussian Energy Chains: The Remaking of Technopolitics from Siberia to Ukraine to the European Union (Columbia University Press)

Honorable Mention: Chris Miller, We Shall Be Masters: Russian Pivots to East Asia from Peter the Great to Putin (Harvard University Press)

Rules of eligibility for the Shulman book prize competition are as follows:

    • The copyright date inside the book must list previous calendar year as the date of publication (for example the book must have been published in 2021 to be eligible for the 2022 competition).
    • The book must be a monograph, preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors.
    • Authors may be of any nationality as long as the work is originally published in English.
    • Works must be about international behavior of the countries of the former Communist Bloc.
    • Textbooks, collections, translations (including authorial translations), bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible. Self-published works are also ineligible.

Nominating Instructions

Fill out and submit this form to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for the Shulman prize. As of 2020, books may only be nominated for two prizes (eg this prize and one other.)

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below). The nomination form must be submitted by no later than April 15. And books must be received by no later than May 15. (Books not received by the deadline may not be considered.)

Submissions should be clearly marked “Marshall Shulman Book Prize Nomination.”

Please direct questions to

The winner of the Shulman Book Prize will be chosen by the following scholars:

Jelena Subotic, Georgia State U, 2021-2023 (Chair)
Print books are preferred. Please mail them to:
Georgia State University, Department of Political Science, 1061 Langdale Hall, 38 Peachtree Center Ave 
Atlanta GA 30303
Where needed, ebooks can be sent to:

Mara Kozelsky, University of South Alabama, 2022
Ebooks are preferred. Please send them to: 

Where needed, print books can be sent to: Department of History University of South Alabama Humanities 344 Mobile, AL 36688

Elidor MëhilliCUNY Hunter College, 2022-2024 
Print books are preferred. Please mail them to:
CUNY Hunter College, History Department, WB 1516, 695 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10065
Where needed, ebooks can be sent to:

(for customs use): Please mark the nominated books as "gift" to alert Customs that this is not a commercial shipment/to insure the recipient does not have to pay for the items. 
412 648 9809