Kulczycki Book Prize in Polish Studies

The Kulczycki Book Prize in Polish Studies (formerly the ASEEES Orbis Book Prize), established in 1996 and sponsored by the Kulczycki family, former owners of the Orbis Books Ltd. of London, England, is awarded annually for the best book in any discipline, on any aspect of Polish affairs, published in the previous calendar year. The Kulczycki Book Prize carries a cash award. The award is presented at the ASEEES Annual Convention.

Jochen BöhlerCivil War in Central Europe, 1918-1921: The Reconstruction of Poland (Oxford University Press)

Natalia NowakowskaKing Sigismund of Poland and Martin Luther: The Reformation before Confessionalization (Oxford University Press)

Shortlist: Marcin Wodziński, Hasidim: Key Questions (Oxford University Press), and Łukasz Szulc, Transnational Homosexuals in Communist Poland: Cross-Border Flows in Gay and Lesbian Magazines (Palgrave)

Rules of eligibility for the Kulczycki Book Prize in Polish Studies competition are as follows:

    • The copyright date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication (for example, the book must have been published in 2019 to be eligible for the 2020 competition).
    • Only works originally published in English, outside of Poland, are eligible
    • The book must be a monograph predominantly on Polish studies, preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors.
    • Strong preference will be given to works by first-time authors.
    • The competition is open to works in any discipline, dealing with any aspect of Polish affairs.
    • Textbooks, translations, bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible. Self-published works are also ineligible.
    • Previous winners of the Kulczycki/Orbis Prize are ineligible.

Fill out and submit this form to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for ASEEES prizes. New for 2020: books may only be nominated for two prizes (eg this prize and one other.)

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below) AND to the ASEEES main office (address in the footnote). The nomination form must be submitted by no later than April 15. And books must be received by no later than May 15. (Books not received by the deadline may not be considered.)

Submissions should be clearly marked “ASEEES Kulczycki Book Prize Nomination.” If you would like to receive an acknowledgment that your nomination was received please enclose with the copy mailed to the ASEEES main office a note with your e-mail address or a self-addressed stamped envelope or a postcard.

Please direct questions to Mary Arnstein (ASEEES Communications Coordinator) at newsnet@pitt.edu

The winner of the Kulczycki Books Prize in Polish Studies will be chosen by the following scholars:

Bozena Karwowska, U of British Columbia (Canada), 2018-2020, Chair
(mailing address): 
Bozena Karwowska
917 - 1873 East Mall
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1
(electronic submission):
If possible, electronic submissions would be preferred. Please send a PDF of the submission to bozena@mail.ubc.ca

Malgorzata Mazurek, Columbia U, 2020-2022
(mailing address)
Malgorzata Mazurek
Department of History, Columbia University
413 Fayerweather Hall
1180 Amsterdam Avenue, MC 2527
New York, NY 10027

Piotr Kosicki, U of Maryland, 2020-2021
(mailing address):
Piotr Kosicki
6716 chemin Béland
Côte Saint-Luc, QC H4V 1E7

(for customs use): Please mark the nominated books as "gift" to alert Customs that this is not a commercial shipment/to insure the recipient does not have to pay for the items.
412 648 9809

*The committee members are selected in consultation with the Polish Studies Association.