Ed A Hewett Book Prize

The Ed A Hewett Book Prize, established in 1994 and sponsored by the University of Michigan Center for Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies, is awarded annually for an outstanding monograph on the political economy of Russia, Eurasia and/or Eastern Europe, published in the previous year. The Hewett Prize carries a cash award and is presented at the ASEEES Annual Convention.

Ed Hewett was a distinguished alumnus of the University of Michigan, (PhD, economics), a prominent scholar, a fine colleague, and an internationally respected member of the field. The Hewett Book Prize was established in 1994 in his honor to recognize and encourage the high standard of scholarship that he so admirably advanced in the area of his interests, and was sponsored by the National Council for Eurasian and East European Research from 1994 to 2012.


Margarita M. BalmacedaRussian Energy Chains: The Remaking of Technopolitics from Siberia to Ukraine to the European Union (Columbia University Press)

Bryn RosenfeldThe Autocratic Middle Class: How State Dependency Reduces the Demand for Democracy (Princeton University Press)

Rules of eligibility for the Hewett book prize competition are as follows:

    • The copyright date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication (for example, the book must have been published in 2021 to be eligible for the 2022 competition).
    • Only works originally published in English in the form of monographs preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors, are eligible. 
    • Works must be on the political economy of Russia, Eurasia and/or Eastern Europe.
    • Textbooks, translations (including authorial translations), bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible.
    • Self-published works are also ineligible. 

Nominating Instructions

Fill out and submit this form to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for  Hewett prize. As of 2020, books may only be nominated for two prizes (eg this prize and one other.)

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below). The nomination form must be submitted by no later than April 15. And books must be received by no later than May 15. (Books not received by the deadline may not be considered.)

Submissions should be clearly marked “Hewett Book Prize Nomination.” 

Please direct questions to newsnet@pitt.edu

The winner of the Hewett Book Prize will be chosen by the following scholars:

Sarah Wilson Sokhey, U of Colorado, 2020-2022 (Chair)
Print books are preferred. Please contact newsnet@pitt.edu for the mailing address. 
Where needed, ebooks will be accepted. Please send to sarah.sokhey@colorado.edu

Emanuela Grama, Carnegie Mellon U, 2022-2024
Print books are preferred. Please mail them to: 
Emanuela Grama 
526 Hastings St. 
Pittsburgh PA 15206
Where needed, ebooks will be accepted. Please send to egrama@andrew.cmu.edu 

Cynthia Buckley, U of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2022-2024 
702 S Wright, 3116 Lincoln Hall
M/C 454
Champaign, IL 61820
Ebooks will be accepted as well. Please send to buckleyc@illinois.edu