Omeljan Pritsak Book Prize in Ukrainian Studies

The Omeljan Pritsak Book Prize in Ukrainian Studies, established in 2019 and sponsored by the Ukrainian Research Institute at Harvard University, recognizes a distinguished book in the field of Ukrainian studies that was published in the previous calendar year. The Pritsak Prize carries a cash award and is presented annually at the ASEEES Annual Convention.

The primary founder of Harvard’s Ukrainian Research Institute and the first Mykhailo S. Hrushevs’kyi Professor of Ukrainian History at Harvard, Omeljan Pritsak was an esteemed scholar of broad scope and erudition, who treated Ukrainian history and culture in close connection with the history and culture of its neighbors.

2022 WINNER 

Yuliya Ilchuk, Nikolai Gogol: Performing Hybrid Identity (University of Toronto Press)

Honorable Mention: Olena Palko, Making Ukraine Soviet: Literature and Cultural Politics under Lenin and Stalin (Bloomsbury Publishers)

Rules of eligibility for the Omeljan Pritsak Book Prize in Ukrainian Studies competition are as follows:

  • The copyright date inside the book must list the previous calendar year as the date of publication (for example, the book must have been published in 2021 to be eligible for the 2022 competition).
  • Only works originally published in English are eligible. Authors may be of any nationality. The book must be a monograph, preferably by a single author, or by no more than two authors.
  • The competition is open to works in any discipline, dealing with any aspect of Ukrainian studies, including the works that put Ukrainian experiences in a broad comparative context.
  • Textbooks, translations (including self-translations), bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible. Self-published books are also ineligible.


Fill out and submit this form to notify the Association of your intent to nominate a publication for Pritsak prize. As of 2020: books may only be nominated for two prizes (eg this prize and one other.)

Send one copy of eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses below). The nomination form must be submitted by no later than April 15. And books must be received by no later than May 15. (Books not received by the deadline may not be considered.)

Submissions should be clearly marked “Omeljan Pritsak Book Prize.” 

The winner of the 2022 Pritsak Book prize will be chosen by the following scholars:

Michael Naydan, Penn State U, 2019-2022 (Chair)
E-books are preferred. Please send them to
Print books will be accepted, where needed: 
Michael Naydan
201 Pickwick Ave
State College, PA 16803

Steve Seegel, Northern Colorado U, 2021-2023
Professor Seegel will accept ebooks or print books at:
Please email for an address to which print books can be mailed.

Margarita BalmacedaHarvard U/Seton Hall U, 2022-2024
Professor Balmaceda prefers print books. Please email for the mailing address
Where needed, ebooks will be accepted. They can be sent to:

(for customs use): Please mark the nominated books as "gift" to alert Customs that this is not a commercial shipment/to insure the recipient does not have to pay for the items. 
412 648 9809